We need you, Help us help others

VOLUNTEERS
PEOPLE HELPED

How you can help...

Why Volunteer?

Volunteers help to deliver critical services to those who are in need or at risk for suicide. Volunteering is a great way to help others in your community.

Ready to Volunteer?

View our next training dates below. If you’re ready to volunteer on the helpline, click the register button to sign up for the next training class.

Internships

Internships are a great way to gain experience and school credit! Register below if you would like to intern with Community Crisis Services, Inc.

Other Ways to Help

Working the on helpline isn’t for everyone. Visit our Donate page to learn about other ways to help support Community Crisis Services, Inc.

Suicide & Crisis Counselor Training

Suicide Crisis Counselor Training
Spring 2017 Schedule

Tuesday May 16, 2017 6:30pm – 9:30pm
Thursday May 18, 2017 6:30pm – 9:30pm
Tuesday May 23, 2017 6:30pm – 9:30pm
Thursday May 25, 2017 6:30pm – 9:30pm

Observation Week Monday – Friday (4 Hrs.)
Monday May 29, 2017 – Friday June 2, 2017
(Schedule day(s) & time with Trainer)

Saturday June 3, 2017 9:00am – 5:00pm (ASIST)
Sunday June 4, 2017 9:00am – 5:00pm (ASIST)
(ASIST) is a Mandatory Two Day Class and must
be attended on the consecutive dates above.

Tuesday June 6, 2017 6:30am – 12:00pm
Thursday June 8, 2017 6:30pm – 9:30pm
Saturday June 10, 2017 9:00am – 12:00pm

Interns/Volunteers will be trained to:

  • Assess services needs by applying listening skills;
  • Utilize agency resources to match callers with needed services and information-make appropriate referrals;
  • Recognize and respond appropriately to persons in crisis-including callers with thoughts of suicide;
  • Document call reports with an eye to detail and accuracy of information entry –utilizing a computer entry system to record each contact with client.